

## Morley Science Medal

Established in 2003, the Morley Science Medal is named for Edward W. Morley, who was a faculty member at Western Reserve College from 1869 to 1906 and is best known for his role in the landmark Michelson-Morley Experiment in 1887, which attempted to measure the velocity of the earth and the speed of light, an experiment that paved the way for Einstein's theory of relativity. Morley was nominated for the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1902.

The Morley Science Medal is awarded to an alumnus or an alumna of Western Reserve Academy for scientific attainment. Through a particular achievement, a series of achievements or a career of noteworthy accomplishments, medal recipients have made a significant contribution to a field of basic or applied science, or to the application of science, technology or engineering to the improvement of the human condition. Selecting a recipient is the job of the Morley Science Medal Committee:

To nominate an alumnus or an alumna for the Morley Science Medal, please complete and <u>submit the nomination form</u>. If you have questions about the nomination process or timeframe, <u>please contact Director of Alumni Relations & Special Events Abbey Swegan Baker '94</u>.

## **Previous Recipients**

- 2022-23 | Dr. Wendy Green Halpern '84
- 2021-22 | Dr. William E. Kraus '73
- 2020-21 | Dr. Paul Klotman '68
- 2019-20 | Mr. Arthur G. Palmer '75
- 2018-19 | Dr. Leslee L. Subak '79
- 2017-18 | Dr. George T. Spencer-Green '65
- 2016-17 | Dr. Anthony J. Wynshaw-Boris '73
- 2015-16 | Mr. Richard P. Van Berg '60
- 2014-15 | Dr. Glenn D. Stone '72
- 2013-14 | Dr. W. Brechner Owens '64
- 2012-13 | Dr. Jean Frazier '77
- 2011-12 | Dr. Andre Clewell '52
- 2010-11 | Dr. Paul D. Sniegowski '77
- 2009-10 | Dr. William E. Crisp Jr. '43
- 2008-09 | Dr. William W. Shilts '59
- 2007-08 | Dr. Robert Wilson '65
- 2006-07 | Dr. Barbara Chapman '80

- 2005-06 | Dr. Robert S. McCuskey '56
- 2004-05 | Dr. James Manwell '65
- 2003-04 | Dr. Michael McCally '52
- 2002-03 | Dr. K. Frank Austen '46, Dr. W. Gerald Austen '47, Dr. John T. Mickel '52, Dr. William H. Durham '69, Capt. Lee M. E. Morin (USN) '70, Dr. Kathryn I Clark '76, Dr. Roland K. Strong '80

The **Morley Science Medal Committee** must choose from a pool of immensely talented and dynamic candidates. Below is a listing of current committee members:

- Dr. Jean A. Frazier '77
- Dr. Brechner W. Owens '64
- Mr. Charles E. Mullins '65
- Dr. Christopher R. Wren '89
- Mrs. Carrie Miller Smith '91
- Dr. Glenn D. Stone '72
- Mrs. Wanda Boesch, Dean of Academic Affairs
- Dr. Anthony J. Wynshaw Boris '73
- Mr. Richard P. Van Berg '60
- Dr. George T. Spencer-Green '65
- William E. Kraus '73