

## **Waring Prize**

Established in 1972 to honor faculty master J. Frederick Waring, the Waring Prize is awarded to "an alumnus or alumna of Western Reserve Academy who, by way of life and achievements, whether at the beginning, middle or near the end of their career, represents the human and individual values the Academy strives to foster, as well as the many graduates known or unknown who have similarly made their contribution to society." Past recipients include alumni from various walks of life including poets, educators, scientists, writers and clergy.

If you would like to nominate an alumnus or alumna for the Waring Prize, you may do so at any time by using the <u>Waring Prize Nomination Form</u> to submit your candidate. If you have questions about the selection process or time frame, <u>please contact Director of Alumni Relations & Special Events Abbey</u> Swegan Baker '94.

## **Previous Recipients**

- 2024 | Maria E. Paparella '16
- 2023 | Dr. Menna Demessie '98 Senior VP and Executive Director of Universal Music Group's global
- Task Force for Meaningful Change
- 2022 | No Selection
- 2021 | Mrs. Lillian Kuri '88 VP and Chief Operating Officer, Cleveland Foundation
- 2020 | No Selection
- 2019 | Dr. Joseph S. Wood '64 Cultural geographer
- 2018 | Mr. Lee D. Williams '79 U.S. Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
- 2017 | Dr. Damon A. Williams '90 Chief Educational Officer, Boys and Girls Clubs of America
- 2016 | Sara S. Wroblewski '09 Owner, One Bead
- 2015 | Meredith Broadbent '77 Chairman of the U.S. International Trade Commission
- 2014 | John Hewko '75 General Secretary, Rotary International
- 2013 | No Selection
- 2012 | Theodore S. Gup '68 Professor, author
- 2011 | James B. Hurlock '51 International lawyer, pioneer, humanitarian
- 2010 | Dr. John McDonald '77 Professor, musician, composer
- 2009 | Andrew "Sandy" B. Meldrum '70 Journalist
- 2008 | Colin Bradford '57 Global economist
- 2007 | S. Duncan Hill '73 Founder, Uganda Orphans Fund
- 2006 | Anne Campbell Goodman '84 Anti-Hunger Activist
- 2005 | Bancroft R. Poor '74 Environmentalist
- 2004 | Richard D. Geyer '73 Economic redeveloper

- 2003 | Rudolph H. Garfield '46 Businessman, philanthropist
- 2002 | Theodore H. Moran '61 Educator, researcher
- 2001 | James Robertson '55 U.S. District Court judge
- 2000 | Kathryn I. Clark '76 Space scientist
- 1999 | William Z. Potter '62 Psychopharmacologist
- 1998 | Ian A. Frazier '69 Non-fiction writer
- 1997 | Frederick C. Danforth '68 Pewterer, businessman
- 1996 | Verne R. Read '40 Philanthropist
- 1995 | Joseph H. Millar IV '62 Poet
- 1994 | Lee M. Morin '70 Physician, computer scientist
- 1993 | Hilary G. Worthen '65 Physician
- 1992 | Edward J. Pope '37 International business leader
- 1991 | Tien Wei Yang '41 Educator, researcher
- 1990 | Daniel W. Christman '61 Military leader
- 1989 | Bryant Whitman Dennison '39 Clergyman
- 1988 | No Selection
- 1987 | W. Gerald Austen '47- Research scientist, immunologist; K. Frank Austen '46 Cardiologist, surgeon, professor
- 1986 | Joel B. Hayden Jr. '39 Independent school founder
- 1985 | No Selection
- 1984 | Norman H. Moore '34 Engineer, entrepreneur
- 1983 | No Selection
- 1982 | John B. Shaw '40 Dramatist, Shakespeare professor
- 1981 | Robert J. Izant Jr. '39 Pediatric surgeon, professor
- 1980 | E. Bruce Brooks '54 History professor, musician, Orientalist
- 1979 | No Selection
- 1978 | Edward W. Jones '47 Bishop
- 1977 | Holsey Gates Handyside '45 Statesman
- 1976 | R. W. Apple Jr. '52 Journalist
- 1975 | No Selection
- 1974 | Scott E. Forbush '20 Physicist
- 1973 | John H. Stewart '58 Tenor
- 1972 | Richard H. Bliss '38 Headmaster

The Waring Prize Committee and the selection process. Selecting a prize recipient is the job of the Waring Prize Committee. Comprised of alumni and faculty, the committee must choose just one person from a pool of immensely talented and dynamic candidates. Committee membership rotates on a two-, three-, and four-year basis, with a certain percentage of the membership turning over at designated intervals. Below is a listing of current committee members:

Mrs. Erin Dickinson '99

Ms. Annetta Hewko '78

Mr. William Cudney '05

Mr. Donovan Husat '64

Mr. Steven Simons '64

Mr. Thomas Seligson '69

Dr. Ralf Bormann, faculty

Mrs. Inga Walker '91

Mrs. Sarah Horgan, faculty